MOX for Russian Museum, Chaumont-sur-Loire Garden Festival 2013
State Russian Museum St. Petersburg
MOX landscape architects

International Garden Festival at Chaumont-sur-Loire, France

About the 22nd Int. Garden Festival in Chaumont-sur-Loire

For the 22nd International Garden Festival, designers from all over the world have been invited to dream up the most astonishing projects yet. For the first time in the festival history there is a project from Russia to be presented. This initiative has been provided by the State Russian Museum in St. Petersburg.

Once again this year, there is a whole host of surprises in store for visitors on the theme “Gardens of sensations”. All sorts of events will also be put on in connection with the Festival, throughout the season.

First held in 1992, the International Garden Festival has become a key date on the landscape and garden designer’s calendar. Held in high esteem by professionals worldwide, the international competition before each Festival receives hundreds of proposals. Some twenty exceptional projects have been selected by a jury chaired, in 2013, by the famous literary journalist Bernard Pivot. Once again this year, the selection will be impressively international since a wide array of countries is represented.

This year’s Festival will be brimming with promise, giving free rein to several guest artists. Demonstrating research, scientific and artistic innovation, ensuring extensive plant diversity and encouraging environmentally friendly behaviour, each of these creators will bring into being original, innovative, bold or dreamlike gardens or works.

Come and enjoy this 22nd Festival on the theme “gardens of sensations”. A mini-version of the world, the garden is there for walking, feeling, listening, tasting, seeing and touching; the air comes and goes with the wind, light and shadow interplay and the cold and heat, smooth and rough, liquid and solid and flat and sloping tumble one after the other in unison with the senses and sensations. Weaving a network of sensations, the gardens will mix allusion and turmoil: hence, some extraordinary flowers will smell of food or spice and give off a taste of sugar, honey or vanilla. Some leaves may also surprise us with a taste of strawberry or chocolate, and the soft feel of velvet … Savours, flavours, fragrances intermingled … such that your senses will be lost, captivated and spellbound in a garden whose matter, textures and plants are caressed with the eye and the hand, and sounds, murmurs and music bewitch souls.

Further information: www.domaine-chaumont.fr

▲ top

The Festival

Garden project "Renaissance" by MOX landscape architects. Plan fragment

Our approach to the concept

The suggested theme of the 22nd International Garden Festival at Chaumont-Sur-Loire is „Garden of sensations” or Contemporary synaesthesia. The theme’s description contains many topics related to variety of physical sensations which could be experienced in a garden. It is not only covering individual sensations provoked by specific objects, but also those of sensations which could only be experienced as a result of a joint influence of several factors. So there is some sort of sensation scene which brings a person into a certain condition or provokes a certain emotional experience.

Examples of the gardens which provoke and accentuate sensations are well-known. Mostly of them are specially designed for people with disabilities. They offer a replacement of a particular sensation which can not be experienced by another one. For instance gardens with an emphasis on sound or scent could be meant for blind or visually impaired visitors.

This sort of sensation theme interpretations is undoubtedly interesting in a certain context. But at Garden Festival at Chaumont-Sur-Loire we would like to consider the theme at a deeper level, not limiting it to creating a picture of physical sensations. So we have started to develop a more complicated and abstract vision of the subject. Our concept has been inspired by a quotation from Aristotle given in the theme description: “There is nothing in our intelligence that has not first touched our senses”. It accentuates that it is sensation that make us think about objects and phenomenons. So what does garden make us think about? What other senses but physical it gives to us?

We have responded to these question in the following way. Probably the main feature of such phenomenon as garden is its dependence on time, its close relationship with this dimension. The most obvious manifestations of time in a garden are alternation of day and night and change of the seasons. We percept them automatically due to change of lighting and plants condition. So garden is constantly offering us an opportunity to think about time course and experience it.

There are more levels of time perception which could be experienced through garden. For instance, sense of eternity (cyclic recurrence) of life. It becomes apparent when you understand that garden would never die forever. Even a destroyed garden would rise up again one way or another. Garden is like a Phoenix rising from the ashes, just give it some soil, water and sun. And it will grow. Designed or not. It used to exist before us and it will exist after us. And even if it depends on a human at first sight, it’s not in fact. Garden will be different without a human, but it will live still.

Renaissance

Garden project "Renaissance" by MOX landscape architects. PlanIt is eternity and cyclic recurrence of life that we decided for while choosing a theme for our garden exhibition concept. We only show a positive stage of cycle - its renaissance. It’s the way garden rise up from nothing. A negative stage – destruction – stays behind the scenes and is only exposed at the beginning.

We have chosen Black Square as a very simple but at the same time powerful symbol of beginning of everything. It refers us to the ideas and creative works of the Russian artist Kazimir Malevich (1878-1935). During the Garden Festival a new garden will rise up from Black Square.

In a garden context black colour forms an association with something burnt-out, like black coals lying on the ground. Coals and ashes mean something had been existed before but disappeared for some reason. But they have an additional purport as well – this substance has got a growth potential. It contains everything (except sun and water) that a new garden would need.

Our garden layout looks like a black square surrounded by a lightcoloured path made of gravel. The black square is a burnt-out garden raised up for 50 cm above the path. In the garden we see such elements as part of a fence, some paving, apple trees, grass and a mixed border. A space between the path and the hedge is filled with the mixed border, coloured white and green. The border appears to be a blooming frame for the black square. There are two benches on the sides of the black square. The sides opposite to the benches are bounded with white wooden walls, these walls also form some sort of an entrance hall. There are two Malevich`s quotes on the walls in Russian, English and French. These quotes make the visitors think about meaning of what they see in the garden. The first quote is placed above the entrance and states: “I am the beginning of everything”, the second is put inside the garden: “Neither Life nor Death should remain because these two phenomena do not exist apart”.

The image of the burnt-out garden itself is a strong emotional experience. The stronger this emotional experience is, the more powerful is the joy caused by rebirth of the garden. The “ruins” will add to the new garden some unusual, interesting texture and combination of the old “dead” garden with the rise of a new one will create an absolutely unforgettable scene.

With the time course the garden will “recover”and turn green. We would like to draw a picture of spontaneous vegetation growing over the traces of fire. However, we will assist the nature by planting and sowing while making our visitors believe that the garden is rising up on its own.

An important part of our concept is taking “time-lapse“ pictures of the process throughout the entire duration of the festival and showing them online. By displaying the different stages of the project development online we create an additional art-project, which brings an understanding of the process to another level.

Construction of the Garden by MOX landscape architects Construction of the Garden by MOX landscape architects Construction of the Garden by MOX landscape architects Construction of the Garden by MOX landscape architects Construction of the Garden by MOX landscape architects Construction of the Garden by MOX landscape architects

▲ top

The Idea

Kazimir Malevich

More information on Kazimir Malevich you may look up at Wikipedia

 

 

 

 

 

 

Malevich

MOX for Russian Museum, Chaumont-sur-Loire Garden Festival 2013
State Russian Museum St. Petersburg
MOX landscape architects

Renaissance Garden by MOX landscape architects. Plan fragment

Международный Фестиваль садов, Шомон-сюр-Луар

На 22-й Международный Фестиваль Садов организаторы пригласили мастеров со всего мира с их самыми удивительными проектами. Впервые, за время существования фестиваля, будет представлен российский проект, инициатором которого выступил Русский музей.

В этом году Фестиваль обещает много сюрпризов благодаря выбранной теме — «Сады ощущений». На протяжении всего сезона в рамках Фестиваля также будут проходить различные тематические встречи.

Проведённый впервые в 1992 году, Международный фестиваль садов уже давно считается признанным местом встречи мастеров ландшафтного дизайна и пейзажного творчества. На международный конкурс, оцениваемый профессионалами со всего мира и предваряющий ежегодный Фестиваль, пришли сотни заявок. Жюри, возглавляемое в 2013 году знаменитым журналистом и литературным критиком Бернаром Пиво, отобрало два десятка совершенно уникальных проектов. В этом году Фестиваль по полному праву может называться международным, поскольку на нём будут представлены работы мастеров из разных стран.

На Фестиваль также приглашены некоторые именитые личности и знаменитости. В очередной раз демонстрируя стремление к поиску технических и художественных инноваций, заботясь о растительном многообразии и бережном отношении к природе, каждый из участников Фестиваля предложит на суд жюри и публики свои оригинальные, новаторские, смелые, а порой и даже бредовые творения.

Откройте для себя 22-й Фестиваль, посвящённый «Садам ощущений». Подражая нашему изменчивому миру, сад тоже начинает меняться, двигаться, чувствовать себя, прислушиваться к себе, пробовать себя, прикасаться к себе, любоваться собой. Даже воздух здесь подчиняется дуновению ветра. Темнота и свет, холод и жара, гладкие и бугристые поверхности сменяют друг друга, жидкие и твёрдые элементы, пологие и крутые спуски следуют один за другим в унисон с вашими чувствами и ощущениями. Настоящая гамма ощущений! В этих садах великолепным образом переплетаются иллюзия и волнение. Так, некоторые необычные цветы источают ароматы продуктов и пряностей, передают вкус сахара, мёда или ванили. А некоторые листья удивляют нас вкусами клубники и шоколада, и невероятной бархатной нежностью. Вкусы, ароматы, благоухания... Всё смешалось в этих садах, и вот ваши органы чувств уже в растерянности, они покорены, они очарованы садами, материалы, текстура и растения которых ласкают взор и прикосновение, а звуки, шёпот и музыка околдовывают вашу душу…

Официальный сайт фестиваля: www.domaine-chaumont.fr

▲ наверх

Фестиваль садов

Сад "Renaissance", созданный ландшафтным бюро MOX. Разрез.

Подход к формированию концепции

В качестве темы для 22-го международного фестиваля садов в поместье Chaumont-sur-Loire предложен «Сад ощущений» или Современная синестезия (“Garden of sensations” Contemporary synaesthesia).

На наш взгляд, важнейшим и интереснейшим ощущением, которое человек испытывает в саду, является ощущение времени. Его самые наглядные проявления – это смена времени суток и смена времен года. Эти два аспекта ощущаются нами автоматически, за счет изменения освещения и состояния растений. Таким образом, сад постоянно предлагает нам возможность задуматься о течении времени, почувствовать его.

Но существуют и другие, более сложные формы времени, связанные с садом. Например: ощущение бесконечности. Ведь даже уничтоженный сад вырастет, в той или иной форме, снова. Как феникс, который может восстать из пепла. Ему нужны только земля, вода и солнце. И сад будет расти. С дизайном или без. Он был до нас и будет после нас. И хотя сад, на первый взгляд, зависит от человека, в действительности это не так. Без человека сад будет другим, но он будет жить. А это значит, что сад, в некотором роде, бесконечен.

Возрождение (renaissance)

Сад "Renaissance", созданный ландшафтным бюро MOX. Общий планИменно эта тема: «бесконечность и цикличность жизни» была выбрана нами для создания концепции выставочного сада. При этом сад демонстрирует только позитивную фазу цикла – возрождение. Появление сада из ничего. Негативная фаза – разрушение остается за кадром и демонстрируется только как исходная ситуации. В качестве формы для сада мы выбрали черный квадрат, как очень простой и, одновременно, сильный символ начала всего, относящий нас к идеям и творчеству русского художника Казимира Малевича (1878-1935). В течение работы выставки (с апреля по октябрь), из черного квадрата появляется «сад».

В контексте сада черный цвет ассоциируется с чем-то сгоревшим, с углями, лежащими на земле. Угли и пепел подразумевают, что то, что существовало на этом месте, по какой-то причине исчезло. Но они имеют еще и дополнительный смысл – данный материал содержит в себе потенциал для роста. В нем содержится все (кроме воды и солнца), что нужно новому саду. Уже сам образ сгоревшего сада затрагивает сердце человека довольно сильно. А чем сильнее переживания, вызванные потерей чего-то, тем сильнее радость от того, что это «что- то» возрождается.

Планировка сада представляет из себя квадратное поле черного цвета, окруженное светлой дорожкой из набивного покрытия. Черный квадрат – это приподнятый на 50 см относительно дорожки «сгоревший» сад, в котором просматриваются такие элементы, как скамья, часть забора, мощение, яблони, газон и миксбордер. Пространство между дорожкой и живой изгородью заполнено миксбордером в бело-зеленых тонах, играющим роль цветущей рамки. С двух сторон квадрата находятся скамьи. Стороны, расположенные напротив скамей, ограничены белой деревянной стеной, формирующей также «прихожую». На стене размещены две цитаты из Казимира Малевича на русском, английском и французском языках, предлагающие посетителям задуматься о смысле того, что они увидят в саду. Первая, расположенная перед входом, гласит: «Я — начало всего», вторая, находящаяся внутри сада – «Не должно остаться ни жизни, ни смерти, ибо эти два понятия врозь не существуют». Имеющие объем «руины» придадут новому саду интересную, необычную фактуру, а сочетание «умершего» старого с появляющимся новым создаст совершенно незабываемую картину.

С течением времени сад будет восстанавливаться и расцветать. Мы хотим нарисовать образ спонтанной растительности, появившейся на месте пожара. При этом, мы помогаем природе, сажая и высевая определенные растения, но делаем это так, чтобы у посетителей создалось впечатление, будто сад вырос сам по себе.

Важной частью концепции является фотофиксация процеса, с вынесением результатов в интернет. Такое распространение информации о проекте само по себе является арт-проектом, который добавляет еще один уровень восприятия процесса.

Строительство сада командой ландшафтного бюро МОХ Строительство сада командой ландшафтного бюро МОХ Строительство сада командой ландшафтного бюро МОХ Строительство сада командой ландшафтного бюро МОХ Строительство сада командой ландшафтного бюро МОХ Строительство сада командой ландшафтного бюро МОХ

▲ наверх

Концепция

Казимир Малевич

Дополнительную информацию о Казимире Малевиче можно найти, в частности, в Википедии

 

 

 

 

 

 

Малевич